3 Comments

‪Continued being broke and checking my bank account obsessively. I had just wrapped up living in New York for three months to attend the Recurse Center, and had enough RC grant money to fly back to Texas, but not much more. My bf at the time knew the situation, and let me stay with him until my first paycheck. Don’t know how I would’ve survived otherwise.

Expand full comment
Aug 14, 2020Liked by Nikema

I have talked about this with several folks and have been in this position myself. Reflecting on it, I do think work from home will make some of the little gotchas less relevant (like going out to eat with coworkers and being unsure if you can afford what they choose), or working in DevRel being expected to pick up travel costs and expense later is not easy or even possible when you don't have it in the bank. Not being in the same position in terms of credit period (having a card you can easily charge with larger limits to, etc). I have really been enjoying the Ellevest community and newsletter for lots of ad-hoc financial discussions. Would love to ask this in some additional channels and get people talking about this more.

Expand full comment
Aug 14, 2020Liked by Nikema

Heey!! Congratulations dear sister. I did some odd jobs in the summer. Cleaning moved-out of apartments, catering job, dishwasher on the campus I graduated from while job searching. This time I am still job hunting, but doing odd data jobs e.g. cleaning out Excel data, setting up Google sheets workflows for small businesses for tips.

Expand full comment